A Diagnosis for My Boy

So I’m not the only one in my family with mind problems now. Not that I’m exactly happy about this diagnosis, but it at least gives me someone else other than myself to focus on. Someone to watch out for and spend time and effort in helping to overcome difficulties that arise.

I had confirmation from the paediatrician today that my eight year old son has a combination of Aspergers and ADHD. In some ways I’m not surprised, little things about him troubled me from an early age. But he is very high functioning, so I wasn’t too concerned until he started school, and his teacher’s have worried because he’s struggled in a few areas (social, emotional, concentration, and other little things). We’ll be exploring medication options at the next visit with the paediatrician to help with the ADHD, she thinks that focussing on treating the ADHD will also relieve some of the symptoms of Aspergers that he presents with.

I don’t know a whole lot about either of these conditions, but I do know that I want to help my son in the best way that I can. I know that I’ll be doing a whole lot of research now. And researching things is something I love doing – I really should have been a scientist. Having a focus in my external life, learning about something new, will help me to stay out of my internal world for a while. And although I constantly yearn to escape into my mind, I know it’s not really a healthy way to be. But with a new focus I’ll have to stay in the land of the living, not in my dreams.

Leave a Reply

